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Teenage Teenage 
Drinking and Drinking and 
DrivingDriving

For more information, or to request 
a safety presentation, please 

send an email to the ISP Safety 
Education Unit at: 

ISP.Safety.Education@illinois.gov

You can also visit us on the web at: 

https://isp.illinois.gov/TrafficSafety/
SafetyEducation

ZERO TOLERANCE LAW ZERO TOLERANCE LAW 
for Underage Drinking for Underage Drinking 

and Drivingand Driving

Possession or Consumption 
of Alcoholic Beverages
It is illegal for any person under the age of 21 to 
consume or possess, whether opened or unopened, 
alcoholic beverages. Penalties include:

• Driving privileges suspended for 6 months for a 
first conviction.

• Driving privileges suspended for 12 months for a 
second conviction.

• A maximum $2,500 fine and up to one year in jail. 

Improper Use of Illinois 
Driver’s License or ID Card
You could spend up to three years in prison, face 
fines of up to $25,000, and have your driver’s license 
suspended if you:

• Allow another to use your driver’s license or ID Card.

• Use someone else’s driver’s license or ID Card to 
represent yourself.

• Knowingly possess a fictitious or unlawfully altered 
driver’s license or ID Card. Illinois State Police

Zero Tolerance is a state law that went into effect on 
January 1, 1995, and provides for the suspension 
of driving privileges of any person under the age of 
21 who drives after consuming alcohol. As the name 
Zero Tolerance suggests, any trace of alcohol in a 
young person’s system can result in a suspended 
driver’s license. 
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TEENAGE 
DRINKING AND 

DRIVING
• In Illinois, drivers under the age 

of 21 represent only 10% of 
licensed drivers but they are 
involved in 17% of alcohol-
related fatal crashes.

• If you are arrested for DUI, you 
will be handcuffed and taken 
to jail.

• Getting a DUI under the age of 
21 in Illinois will affect your life 
for years.

• According to the National 
H ighway  Tra f f i c  Sa fe t y 
Administration, in 2020, 2,276 
people were killed in traffic 
crashes involving a teen driver.

• US Centers for Disease Control 
and Prevention data shows 
that 19% of 15- to 18-year-
old passenger vehicle drivers 
involved in fatal crashes in 
2020 had been drinking.

• What will your parents say when 
you call home and tell them you 
are in jail?

Underage Illegal 
Transportation 
of an Alcoholic 

Beverage
• Maximum fine of $1,500. 
• Driver’s license suspended for 

first conviction. 
• Driver’s license revoked for a 

second conviction. 

Implied Consent
By driving on Illinois roadways, a 
driver agrees to submit to testing 
for alcohol or other drugs. 
Refusing to submit to testing 
results in a longer suspension 
of driving privileges than that 
received for test failure. 

Attendance 
Required

A person under age 21 found 
guilty of DUI may be ordered by a 
judge, as a condition of probation 
or discharge, to participate in 
the Youthful Intoxicated Driver’s 
Visitation Program. The offender 
will undergo a comprehensive 
counseling session prior to 
visitation to determine if the 
program is appropriate. If 
approved, the offender may be 
sent on a supervised visit to a 
location where the results of 
alcoholism or DUI crashes may 
be viewed.

LegaL ConsequenCes of underage drinking and driving

First Underage DUI ConvictionFirst Underage DUI Conviction
• Loss of driving privileges for a minimum of two years. 
• Possible imprisonment for up to one year. 
• Maximum $2,500 fine. 
Second Underage DUI ConvictionSecond Underage DUI Conviction
• Loss of driving privileges for a minimum of five years.
• Mandatory five days in jail or 240 hours of community service. 
• Possible imprisonment for up to one year. 
• Maximum $2,500 fine. 
Third Underage DUI Conviction - Class 4 FelonyThird Underage DUI Conviction - Class 4 Felony
• Loss of driving privileges for a minimum of 10 years. 
• Possible imprisonment of one to three years. 
• Maximum $25,000 fine. 

DID YOU KNOW?DID YOU KNOW?
 The average college student spends more 

money for alcohol than for books.

Parental 
Responsibility

Parents should know that it is 
a Class 4 felony, with possible 
imprisonment of 1-3 years 
and a fine of up to $25,000, 
to knowingly allow individuals 
under the age of 21 to drink in 
their home if great bodily harm 
or death results from this action.


